Galleries

Mischievous Fun

by Vreni, 07 Nov 2018
When the Stänton crew comes to Slovakia. Mischievous ideas are found in abundance. Celebrating Balkos youthful age and visiting an abandoned swimming pool were a few of them.
Read More

Autumnal Mountain Porn

by Vreni, 23 Oct 2018
Gather a group of goodness around you. Pack your back pack with warm clothes, food and a drink, hike a peak, watch the sunset and walk home in the dark. Warm up over delicious food and the flickering candle light. Do it! You shall thank me later.
Read More

Wine + Piercings

by Vreni, 09 Sep 2018
Over an excellent lunch at Mott32, we were debating over an idea we all have had for some time... piercings. After a bottle of champagne and few bottles of excellent New Zealand wine. It wasn't a good, but sublime idea. There we went and knocked on the door of Mofo Tattoo!
Read More

Bachelorette Madness

by Vreni, 09 Sep 2018
It all started at boarding school a little over a decade ago (holly crap!). This time the three of us met in Hong Kong and travelled on to the Philippines. Ten days of Bachelorette Madness to celebrate Steffs last month as Miss and our friendship. This is are the photos of a surprisingly big night out with a few too many drinks.
Read More

Sensory Explosion: Filipino Fish Market

by Vreni, 09 Sep 2018
After a couple of days we swooped Hong Kong city madness for fish market barter craziness in Cebu, Philippines. The first thing one notices before eben entering is its very distinct smell from the side road, across the street. A first glance and my senses exploded. Loud bargaining, colors, light, shadows, aisles flooded with people, row after row of fishes shells and who knows what in baskets, spider webs, fans, textures, undefinable things hanging everywhere... Loved it!
Read More

Life+Death

by Vreni, 28 Jun 2018
Life, death and everything in between. Svalbard way beyond the arctic circle is covered in glaciers, touched by pack ice and almost unharmed by the human destructive nature. Life takes it course. In all its beautiful rugged wildness.
Read More

Skål Svalbard

by Vreni, 28 Jun 2018
A little island in the middle of nowhere of indescribable beauty: Svalbard. An island surrounded by blue. Vibrant ice blue, that meanders its way from the mountains to the deep dark blue of the ocean. White snow peaks break the blue sky. A little island in the middle of nowhere of indescribable beauty: Svalbard!
Read More

Life on Board - Polaris1

by Vreni, 28 Jun 2018
Boats aren't really my "thing". Every little thing is consistently moving. You are bound to a certain area. Both feelings I am not fond of. After a challenging start Polaris1 felt like home and the people on board like a second family.
Read More

Ski Touring in Svalbard

by Vreni, 28 Jun 2018
This little island is a geological treasure, an encyclopedia of the earth's history. Every type of rock is to be found there in a miniature version: Mini-Rockies, Mini-Alps, Mini-Yosemite... endless possibilities for ski touring and climbing or to simply enjoy in silence the outstanding beauty of rugged wilderness.
Read More

Alpine Start

by Vreni, 24 May 2018
Early mornings. They hurt. A little. The alarm goes off and my mind (very) slowly awakens. The body is still in denial. Hoping for another 10minutes rest. An image appears out of the dark cloud of sleep: Col de Roche Faurio. A white line between rugged rocks. A thousand meter vertical beauty. Details become clearer. The climb leads through a narrow snow band guarded by rocks on each side. After it the the couloir opens up. Step by step, passed two seracs, along the rocks until the saddle… My sleep drunken fingers unzip the sleeping bag. LETS PLAY! (But first coffee)
Read More

Hunting snow in La Grave

by Vreni, 23 May 2018
I am vehemently denying spring. Its warm temperatures, twittering birds and colorful spring flowers. The only escape is up. Very steep kind of up. Above 2.000m untouched snow and ice is to be found. Welcome to the national parc of the Ecrins (parc national des Ecrins) in France, Europe.
Read More

Tihar - Festival of Light

by Vreni, 19 Feb 2018
Tihar, the festival of light, worships the Hindu gods and humans, but also their relationship to animals. Dogs, crows and dogs each of them have their own their of celebration. The hindus draw patterns at their front doors and in their living rooms floors with colored rice, fruits, blossom leaves and colored sand. These are sacred. And are meant to welcome the Goddesses, Gods and animals.
Read More

A sneaky climbing quicky

by Vreni, 27 Oct 2017
A sneaky climbing quicky. Three days and two routes (Luna Nascente & Kundalini) paired with multiple unsuccessful attempts of overcoming my fear of traversing (singing to myself helped a little), refining the art of crack and friction climbing on granite and a good glass of red with fantastic human beings before crawling into the sleeping bag.
Read More

Fishing in arctic Norway

by Vreni, 26 May 2017
Five friends trying to learn the art of fishing - kind of. Every day touring in the Lyngen Alps ended with a fishing orgy. A few refreshing cold beers, something salty to nibble on, to rest and enjoy the view over the Fjords of Lyngen, in arctic Norway.
Read More

Elbrus and his handsome brother Ushba

by Vreni, 20 May 2017
The highest peak of Europe Elbrus 5.642m and tiny wee little me. Who would have thought that? Step by step I was making my way up Elbrus while I look shy to Ushba. The small handsome brother of Elbrus...
Read More

Gallerie

Wein + Piercings

von Vreni, 09 Sep. 2018
Bei einem ausgezeichneten Mittagessen im Restaurant Mott32 diskutieren wir eine Idee, die uns schon länger durch den Kopf geistert: Piercings. Nach einer Flasche Champagner und einigen Flaschen Neuseeländischem Wein war es nicht mehr eine gute, aber grandiose Idee. Wir klopften an die Tür von Mofo Tattoo...
Weiterlesen

Bachelorette Madness

von Vreni, 09 Sep. 2018
Hong Kong + Philippinen, wenn poltern, dann richtig! Unsere Geschichte began vor über einer Dekade im Internat in Bregenz. In den Straßen von Hong Kong haben wir Drei unsere Freundschaft und Steffs letzten Monat als Junggesellin zelebriert. Mit viel zu vielen Drinks und schallendem Gelächter. Cheers!
Weiterlesen

Reizüberflutung: Philippinischer Fischmarkt

von Vreni, 09 Sep. 2018
Nach einigen Tagen tauschten wir Großstadt-Hong-Kong-Eskapaden für das bunte treiben eines philippinischen Fischmarkts auf Cebu ein. Noch bevor man den Fuß ins Gebäude setzt, in der Seitenstraße, leitet der Geruch über die Kreuzung zum Markt. Ein erster Blick und die Sinne werden geflutet, explodieren fast. Das laute Handeln, Farben, Licht, Schatten, Gänge geflutet von Menschen, Reihen von Fischen, Spinnennetze, Ventilatoren, Gerüche, Strukturen, undefinierbare Dinge... Schau!
Weiterlesen

Leben+Tot 

von Vreni, 28 Juni 2018
Leben, Tot und das dazwischen. Spitzbergen weit hinter dem arktischen Zirkel ist bedeckt von Gletschern, berührt vom Packeis und fast gänzlich unberührt von der menschlichen Zerstörungskraft. Das Leben nimmt dort seinen Lauf. In seiner ganzen unnachgiebigen Wildheit.
Weiterlesen

Skål Spitzbergen

von Vreni, 28 Juni 2018
Eine kleine Insel umgeben von Blau. Leuchtendes Eisblau, das sich von den Bergen zum schwarzblau des Meeres schlängelt. Bergspitzen brechen mit weißen Gipfeln das himmelsblau. Eine kleine Insel mitten im Nirgendwo von unbeschreiblicher Schönheit!
Weiterlesen

Leben an Bord - Polaris1

von Vreni, 28 Juni 2018
Schiffe sind nicht so ganz das Wahre für mich. Jedes noch so kleine Teil ist konstant in Bewegung, der Platz begrenzt. Beides Gefühle, die ich geflissentlich zu vermeiden versuche. Nach einem holprigen Start ist die Polaris1 mein zu Hause geworden und die Besatzung meine zweite Familie.
Weiterlesen

Skitouren in Spitzbergen

von Vreni, 28 Juni 2018
Diese kleine Insel ist eine geologische Schatzkammer, ein Lexikon der Erdgeschichte. Jede Gesteinsart ist dort zu finden: Kalk, Schiefer, Granit... unendlich vielen Möglichkeiten für's Skitouren und Klettern. Oder in Stille die Schönheit der Wildnis bewundern.
Weiterlesen

Alpine Start

von Vreni, 24 Mai 2018
Alpine Starts. Sie schmerzen. Ein bisschen. Der Wecker läutet und mein Geist erwacht (sehr) langsam. Der Körper weigert sich noch vehement. In der Hoffnung noch 10 Minuten Schlaf ergattern zu können. Aus der dunklen Tiefe des Schlafs erscheint ein Bild: Col de Roche Faurio. Eine weiße Linie zwischen zerklüfteten Felsen. Eine tausend Meter Schönheit. Das Bild wird schärfer. Der Aufstieg führt durch ein schmales Schneeband, gesäumt von grobem Fels. Danach weitet sich der Couloir. Schritt für Schritt, vorbei an Seracs, entlang der Felsen bis zum Sattel... Meine schlaftrunkenen Finger fummeln am Reißverschluss meines Schlafsacks. LETS PLAY! (zuerst einen Kaffee)
Weiterlesen

Schneejagd in La Grave

von Vreni, 23 Mai 2018
Den warmen Temperaturen, dem Vogelgezwitscher und den ersten Blumen verweigere ich momentan noch vehement. Über 2.000m gibt es noch unberührten Schnee und Eis. Willkommen in La Grave im Parc National des Ecrins in Frankreich.
Weiterlesen

Tihar - Fest des Lichts

von Vreni, 19 Feb. 2018
Während des Tihar, das Fest des Lichts, verehren die Hinduisten ihre Götter, die menschlichen Beziehungen, aber auch die Beziehung zu den Tieren. Hunden, Krähen und Kühen ist ein eigener Festivaltag gewidmet. Die Gläubigen Hinduisten zeichnen mit buntem Reis, Früchten, Blütenblättern und gefärbtem Reis heilige Zeichen vor ihre Haustüre und auf ihren Wohnzimmerboden, als Symbol der Verehrung und des Willkommen heißens der Göttinnen, Götter und Tiere.
Weiterlesen

ein ausgefuchster Kletter-Quicky

von Vreni, 27 Okt. 2017
Drei Tage, zwei Routen (Luna Nascente & Kundalini) gekoppelt mit diversen unergiebigen Versuchen meine Angst von Traversen zu überwinden (singen hat dabei ein kleines bisschen geholfen), dem Aneignen von Riss- und Reibungsklettern auf Granit, einem guten Glas Rotwein mit noch besseren Freunden und dem kuscheligsten Schlafsack überhaupt.
Weiterlesen

Fischen im arktischen Norwegen 

von Vreni, 26 Mai 2017
Jede Skitour in Lyngen haben wir mit einer Angelorgie am Fjord beendet. Ein paar kühle Bier, etwas salziges zum Naschen, um den Tag in Ruhe ausklingen zu lassen.
Weiterlesen

Elbrus - und sein schöner Bruder Ushba

von Vreni, 20 Mai 2017
Der höchste Berg Europas Elbrus 5.642m und die kleine Vreni vom Berg. Wer hätte das gedacht? Während ich Schritt für Schritt dem höchsten Gipfel Europas entgegengehe, habe ich nur Augen für Ushba. Der schöne Bruder von Elbrus...
Weiterlesen

Chamonix again

von Vreni, 19 Mai 2017
Vor einem Jahr haben mich die französischen Alpen in ihren Bann gezogen. Die scharfen Granitnadeln, die Gletscher und steilen Rinnen haben mich nicht losgelassen. Also hab ich meine Sachen gepackt und bin zurück ins gelobte Land mit meinen Freunden.
Weiterlesen

Bergherzmenschen

von Vreni, 21 Feb. 2017
Meine Lieblingsmenschen am Berg.
Weiterlesen